We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

After the Flood

by After the Flood

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £8 GBP  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    CD in gatefold card case, with cover art by Joseph Cowell

    Includes unlimited streaming of After the Flood via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      £10 GBP or more 


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 26 Neil Campbell releases available on Bandcamp and save 50%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Journey Into Space, Particle Theory [15th Anniversary Remaster], Alive in Prohibition, Faldum, Berlin Suite & Other Short Stories, Collected Systems Music (2002-2006), The Great Escape, 3572 (2021 Version), and 18 more. , and , .

    Purchasable with gift card

      £81 GBP or more (50% OFF)


To Asia 03:24
From Africa 06:48
Déjà Vu 03:51
Higher 02:54
5-HTP 04:09
Lantra 03:34
FiveOneSeven 03:05
Ten Men Dead 04:12
"Listen, the rub of their locks and keys, Big black boots desperate, to stamp out the fight in me. Never, as much as they cause us pain, Chop off our hands and our feet and our tongues, Something inside remains. And our day will come."


Imagine if the world was almost destroyed and there were just a few survivors left. With the goal of building a new positive world from the wreckage of the past what sort of music would surviving musicians make? After the Flood is a conceptual instrumental band hailing from Liverpool, UK featuring guitarist/composers Neil Campbell (Bulbs/Perri and Neil/Neil Campbell Collective) and Marty Snape (Mighty Zeb/Bulbs/The Hat Band), along with Roger Gardiner (Dead Poppies) on Overwater bass and Norwegian ace Viktor Nordberg on drums. The band create a pan-global acoustic-based music where each musician is an equal part of the whole. After the Flood's music draws on minimalism, folk music, progressive rock, African, Indian and other indigenous musical styles, using polyrhythms, cyclical structures and tight arrangements but allowing pockets of space for improvisation and self-expression.

"Like all good progressive albums you are drawn into it as it takes you on a musical journey... [It's] your perfect summer soundtrack perhaps." - Rob Harrison, Nerve

"After The Flood is a bold and brave statement, its intentions broad in scope and possibly even broader in execution, even if the manner in which it is presented stays true to the acoustic guitar spirit that Neil Campbell’s work is most often centred round. **** " - Steven Reid, Sea of Tranquility

“a well-crafted combination of energetic melodies, weaved neatly together over the bass and drums... imagine Paul Simon’s Graceland having a musical baby with Yes’s Fragile“ - Amy Chidlow, GetIntoThis

“What is reassuring is how seamlessly After The Flood follows on from ‘The Outsider - News From Nowhere’, a testament to the band, who have grasped and absorbed Neil’s concept, taken ownership of it, placed a different complexion on the material, but remained true to the paradigm... this latest offering continues the rich vein of music emanating from the Neil Campbell camp.” - Bob Mulvey, The Progressive Aspect

“Filled with hypnotic grooves drawn from every corner of the globe this album is an affirmative vision of how cultures might interact once national divisions are abandoned after a catastrophic flood.” - The Musician

“If you like and appreciate thoughtful progressive music along the lines of King Crimson’s more esoteric moments, then After The Flood are your group of choice. Buckle up and let them take you across continents and other worlds of musicality.” - Steve Kinrade, Pennyblack Reviews


released July 13, 2018

Neil Campbell (classical and electric guitars, keyboards and handclaps)
Marty Snape (acoustic guitars, keyboards and electronics)
Roger Gardiner (Overwater bass)
Viktor Nordberg (drums)
Perri Alleyne-Hughes (vocals on tracks 8 & 9)
Ian Cantwell and Mark Jones (vocals on track 11)

Engineered by Marty Snape
Additional Engineering by Jon Lawton at Crosstown Studios
Produced by Marty Snape and Neil Campbell
Mastering by Jon Lawton

The band would like to thank those who have supported them and contributed to this album. Special thanks to guest musicians Perri Alleyne-Hughes, Mark Jones and Ian Cantwell for their vocal performances.

Cover Painting by Joseph Cowell, used with thanks
Inner Cover Photos by David Munn, used with thanks
Inner Text by Ian Cantwell, used with thanks
Design by Paul Hunt


all rights reserved



Neil Campbell Liverpool, UK

Liverpool composer and multi-instrumentalist.

‘One of the best acoustic guitar players of our time’ - Jon Neudorf, Sea of Tranquility

“Neil Campbell remains one the U.K.’s shamefully undiscovered contemporary composers, and I for one hope a larger audience awaits him soon” - Bob Mulvey, TPA

'music of serious quality and distinction' - Tom Robinson, BBC 6 Music
... more

contact / help

Contact Neil Campbell

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like After the Flood, you may also like: